The Power of Memory Unleashed!


I was reminded of the fantastic power of memory to open us to feelings that are essential to finding the majestic power of life.

It was a cool, gently rainy morning and I was taking my dog Shadow out for her morning walk. She is always the same. When she sees me reach for the leash, she can barely contain her 13 year old self with the excitement to be alive and sniff the earth. She takes a huge stretch and then, with all of the self-control she can muster, sits to allow me to attach the leash. She can barely contain herself.

Shadow - Always One Ear Up

Shadow - Always One Ear Up

She enters the world aglow with happiness and curiosity. Watching her brought back memories of the other dogs I have lived with. I remember their loving eyes, their boundless enthusiasm when they spotted the tennis ball in my hands. Omigod, can there be anything more wonderful than chasing and retrieving a thrown ball? When I remember them, I am filled with immense joy. This is the power of memory to open us to just being alive in the moment. How grateful I am for the power of feeling.

My Daughter and Her "Rez" Dog

My Daughter and Her "Rez" Dog

Memory connects with the vast sweep of time and the preciousness of life. It takes us out of our heads and into our hearts.

As I removed the leash from Shadow’s neck when the walk was done, I felt my own heartfelt self unleashed and tears of gratitude filled my eyes.

,

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

