Why I’m Not as Popular As Wayne Dyer



I don’t know if you’ve ever given it any consideration, but I have. I have, in fact, asked myself why I’m not as popular as Wayne Dyer and I think it’s an important question.

Let me make one controversial point clear at the outset. In my view, my book Liberation from the Lie: Cutting the Roots of Fear Once and For All is a better book than anything written by Wayne Dyer. This is just my opinion. I have read several of Dyer’s books and I think they possess both substance and insight. I just don’t think they provide nearly as comprehensive picture of human suffering and yearning than does my own book.

I think the difference is very illuminating. Dyer is an optimist. He believes in human potential. So am I, although I’m not nearly as optimistic as Dyer about people in general.

But there are two great differences between Dyer and myself; 1 – Dyer ignores, completely, the effect on the human persona that history and environment inevitably effect and that is an essential point of view expressed in Liberation; and 2 – Dyer fails to identify and explore the underlying invalidation story that all of us carry with us 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Until we see the vast sweep of cultural history and how it gave birth to the universal invalidation experience, we will continue spinning our wheels going from this book to this teacher to this video. Waking up means to wake up to the force that drives the seeking process on its core level.

Dyer is a kind and humane cheerleader, while I am an investigator. Dyer tells you what to do and I invite you to explore your psyche and family/social environment. Dyer keeps it simple, while Liberation is often challenging reading.

And I truly believe there is a crucial role for teachers like Wayne Dyer. Sometimes a beautiful, well-crafted message is just what we need in times of confusion and hopelessness. I personally thank Dr. Dyer for his wisdom.

Dyer provides an open invitation for everyone to get into his self-improvement regimen, while I make it perfectly clear at the outset that Liberation is only for those with the bravery and rigorous self-honesty to seriously question their most sacred beliefs and thoughts.

And that is why Liberation is for the few and Dyer is for the many.

Dyer is almost always an “up” experience, while Liberation is, initially, a “head” experience that journeys to the core of the fragile human heart. I say in Liberation that the portal to the awakened self must traverse the territory of our most self-protected grief and vulnerability. My way is through the forest, while Dyer’s is brightly lit by the sun of his always sunny writing.

But this is also why the message and process of Liberation is so enduring. That which digs deep goes deep and that which stays on the surface of fear with the ever-present promise of hope, pretty much stays on the surface layers.

And this is why Liberation from the Lie will never ever be a best seller. For those of you who have read this book, I urge you to recall the Navajo story of the Hero Twins and how Monster Slayer went out in the times prior to human beings and slew all of the terrible monsters that prevented human life to take root on the soil of the earth. Do you recall if Monster Slayer succeeded?

Even the great power of Monster Slayer could not make the world perfectly safe for human beings, but he did make it safe enough, it’s just that human beings must now deal with the very monsters that even Monster Slayer could not kill: depression, frustration, hopelessness, and hunger.

And it is the Hunger Monster that Liberation is directed to – the hunger to dig deep into the depths of our fragile consciousness and find the light that resides their still in your and my Authentic Self.


  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

